Public Document Pack

ADDITIONAL CIRCULATION - VOTE



To: All Members of the Council

Town House, ABERDEEN, 3 January 2025

SPECIAL COUNCIL

ALAN THOMSON INTERIM CHIEF OFFICER - GOVERNANCE

BUSINESS

4.1 Written Request for Special Meeting (Pages 3 - 4)

This circulation contains the detail of the vote at the meeting

Website Address: www.aberdeencity.gov.uk

Should you require any further information about this agenda, please contact Martyn Orchard, tel 01224 067598 or morchard@aberdeencity.gov.uk



The Council had before it a motion by Councillor Malik in the following terms:-

That the Council:

Suspends Standing Order 42.1 (Altering Previous Decisions) to allow the Council to consider the matter today.

Notes the Liberal Democrats, despite having only 4 members, receive more places on Committees than the 5 independent members.

Agrees the following compositions:-

SNP 18/45 - 44 places Labour 11/45 - 25 places Conservative 7/45 - 17 places Independent 5/45 - 10 places Liberal Democrats 4/45 - 9 places

COMMITTEE	SNP	LABOUR	CONSERVATIVE	INDEPENDENT	LIBERAL DEMOCRATS	TOTAL
ANTI- POVERTY	4	2	1	1 (van Sweeden)	1	9
AUDIT	4	2	1	1 (Nicoll)	1	9
COMMUNITIES	4	2	2		1	9
EDUCATION	6	3	2	1 (Mrs Stewart)	1	13
FINANCE	3	2	2	1 (Nicoll)	1	9
LICENSING	3	2	2	2 (Mrs Stewart and Crockett)		9
NET ZERO	4	2	2		1	9
PENSIONS	4	2	1	2 (van Sweeden and Boulton)		9
PLANNING	4	2	1	1 (Boulton)	1	9
STAFF	4	2	2		1	9
URGENT B	2	2	1	1 (Crockett)	1	7
IJB	2	2	0			4
total	44	25	17	10	9	105

Councillor Malik moved as a procedural motion, seconded by Councillor Houghton:-That the Council suspends Standing Order 42.1 (Altering Previous Decisions) to allow the Council to consider the matter today.

On a division, there voted:-

<u>For the procedural motion</u> (19) - Councillors Blake, Bonsell, Boulton, Brooks, Crockett, Farquhar, Graham, Grant, Houghton, Kusznir, Lawrence, Macdonald, McLeod, Malik, Massey, Nicoll, Mrs Stewart, Thomson and Watson.

Against the procedural motion (22) - Lord Provost; Depute Provost; and Councillors Al-Samarai, Allard, Bouse, Hazel Cameron, Clark, Cooke, Copland, Cormie, Davidson, Fairfull, Greig, Henrickson, Hutchison, MacGregor, McLellan, McRae, Mennie, Radley, van Sweeden and Yuill.

The Council resolved:-

to reject the procedural motion.